Skip to main content

About us

Who we are

What we do

The FRCAW brings together top professionals in research, development and training in order to enhance and disseminate knowledge, innovation and know-how, thereby facilitating the integration of animal welfare into the design of sustainable farming systems, and to bring together all stakeholders involved in animal welfare. Its creation is one of the major actions set out in France's animal welfare strategy (2016-2020).

Legally provided for in the French Future Agriculture legislation and created in 2017 by the French Ministry of Agriculture and Food, the French Reference Centre for Animal Welfare (FRCAW) provides collective expertise and consolidated scientific and technical references to public authorities and economic and social actors in order to improve the consideration of the welfare of animals under human care (farm animals, pets, captive wildlife...).

(1) Law n°2014-1070, 13 October 2014, article 41

Our aim

The main objective of the FRCAW is to support all stakeholders in the animal sector in improving their practices to take better account of the welfare of animals under human care, while providing a technical-scientific reference framework to facilitate dialogue between stakeholders.

Governance Expert publicationsDocumentary resources platformEducational resource platformFAQ

Our activities

Our work falls into three areas.
Our partners are public, private and voluntary organisations involved in animal welfare.

SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL KNOWLEDGE HUB

To meet the objective of the French National Animal Welfare Strategy's Pillar 1 ("Sharing knowledge and promoting innovation"), FRCAW collects, consolidates and promotes knowledge and reference information from a range of sources:

  • scientific and technical resources (reviews and abstracts, dossiers, files etc.)
  • practical guidance (fact sheets and summaries, good practice guides, etc.)
  • regulatory and legal documents

An  open-source participatory documentation and information platform and a welfare joint-monitoring service are available on this website.

The information provided, which is freely accessible, is intended mainly for professionals working in the livestock and animal sectors (professional breeders and animal keepers, professionals from the transport, abattoir and agri-food sectors) and those who support them (technicians, advisers, veterinarians and veterinary technicians, engineers, consultants, etc.).

It is also intended for anybody involved in animal welfare: public officials and authorities, stakeholders, researchers and teachers in the agricultural, agronomy and veterinary sectors, representatives of animal welfare NGOs, etc.

Go to the Knowledge Hub

SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL SUPPORT

The purpose of the FRCAW is to provide scientific and technical expertise to public authorities, partner organisations and the various organisations involved in animal welfare, based on the current state of knowledge.

To this end, FRCAW has developed and coordinates a network of qualified scientific and technical experts.

Also, the FRCAW, with its partners, provides new research to benefit the public interest, having identified gaps in existing knowledge and translated these into research questions.

In order to put the skills developed in France to best use, the FRCAW operates within the framework of the European network of reference centres on animal welfare (made up of both national reference centres in the different Member States of the European Union and of species-specific European reference centres on animal welfare).

Learn more

INFORMATION ON TRAINING

The Chair of Animal Welfare works alongside the FRCAW in its mission to provide a training resource centre that:

  • Maps the training activities carried out in France on the topic of animal welfare
  • Identifies innovative training actions and promote the sharing of experience
  • Takes part in the future revision of national training standards

This mission encompasses higher education (veterinarians and agricultural engineers), vocational training (veterinary practitioners and veterinary inspectors, abattoir staff, livestock stakeholders, etc.) and continuing professional development.

The Chair of Animal Welfare

The creation of the Chair of Animal Welfare is part of France's strategy for animal welfare (2016-2020) produced by the French Ministry of Agriculture. The partnership chair is hosted by VetAgro Sup (Lyon veterinary campus and ENSV, the French national veterinary services professional training institution) and is supported by the Ministry's animal health and protection unit (DGAL).

Learn more about the Partnership Chair

News

Animal welfare initiativesRegulation
May 24, 2024

Une formation interministérielle sur la lutte contre la maltraitance animale

Document type Article published in Presse Agence Author: Floriane Dumont Preview: The welfare of pets is a priority for the French Government...
Regulation
May 22, 2024

Bien-être animal : lancement du plan national pour améliorer le bien-être des animaux de compagnie

Document type Press release issued by the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Sovereignty (MASA) Author: MASA Preview: Pet welfare...
The Fish Site logoArthropodsRegulations
May 16, 2024

Animal advocates call for crustacean welfare codes

Document type Article published in The Fish Site Author: The Fish Site French excerpt (translation): Animal advocates call for codes to protect animals...

Nous connaître

Qui sommes-nous ?

Missions

Le CNR BEA fédère les acteurs de la recherche, du développement et de la formation afin de valoriser et diffuser les connaissances, les innovations et les savoir-faire, faciliter l’intégration du bien-être animal dans la conception de systèmes d’élevage durables, et de rassembler l’ensemble des parties prenantes concernées par le bien-être des animaux. Sa mise en œuvre représente l’une des actions majeures de la Stratégie de la France pour le bien-être animal (2016-2020).

Programmé dans la loi d’avenir pour l’agriculture1 et créé en 2017 par le ministère de l’agriculture et de l’alimentation, le Centre national de référence pour le bien-être animal (CNR BEA) fournit une expertise collective et des références scientifiques et techniques consolidées auprès des pouvoirs publics et des acteurs économiques et sociaux afin d’améliorer la prise en compte du bien-être des animaux sous la dépendance de l’Homme (animaux d’élevage, animaux de compagnie, faune sauvage captive…).

1 : loi n°2014-1070 du 13 octobre 2014, article 41

Objectif

L’objectif majeur du CNR BEA est d’accompagner l’ensemble des acteurs des filières animales vers une évolution des pratiques qui prennent mieux en compte le bien-être des animaux sous la dépendance de l’Homme tout en offrant un cadre de référence technico-scientifique pour faciliter le dialogue entre les parties prenantes.

GouvernanceAccéder à la plateforme de ressourcesConsulter les travaux du CNR BEADécouvrir la Chaire partenariale BEAFAQ

Nos missions

Nos missions se déclinent en trois axes.
Les organisations publiques, privées et associatives concernées par le bien-être animal sont associées à ces travaux.

PLATEFORME DE RESSOURCES SCIENTIFIQUES ET TECHNIQUES

Animer une plateforme d’information et de documentation afin de renforcer la valorisation et la diffusion des connaissances, des innovations et des savoir-faire.

+
Définition bien-être animal

APPUI SCIENTIFIQUE
ET TECHNIQUE

Apporter un appui scientifique et technique auprès des pouvoirs publics, filières, organisations et associations, et identifier les besoins de
nouvelles connaissances.

+
Actualité scientifique bien etre animal

PORTAIL D’INFORMATION SUR LES FORMATIONS

Promouvoir la formation initiale et continue sur le bien-être animal. Avec notamment l’appui de la chaire partenariale « Bien-être animal ».

+
Ressources documentaires bien être animal

PLATEFORME DE RESSOURCES SCIENTIFIQUES ET TECHNIQUES

Afin de répondre à l’objectif de l’axe 1 de la Stratégie nationale en faveur du bien-être animal (« Partager le savoir et promouvoir l’innovation »), le CNR BEA met à disposition et valorise les connaissances consolidées et informations de référence issues de ressources :

  • scientifiques et techniques (revues et résumés, dossiers…)
  • pratiques (fiches et synthèses, guides de bonnes pratiques…)
  • règlementaires et juridiques

Une plateforme participative de documentation et d’informations et un dispositif de veille mutualisée sont disponibles sur ce site.

Ces informations, accessibles librement, s’adressent principalement aux professionnels des filières animales (éleveurs et détenteurs professionnels d’animaux, transporteurs, agents d’abattoirs et des filières de l’agroalimentaire) et aux intervenants leur venant en appui (techniciens, conseillers, vétérinaires et techniciens vétérinaires, ingénieurs, consultants…).

Elles sont également destinées à tous les acteurs concernés par le bien-être des animaux : agents de l’administration et pouvoirs publics, acteurs des filières, chercheurs et enseignants des filières agricoles, agronomiques et vétérinaires, représentants des ONG de protection animale…

Accéder à la plateforme des ressources
Qu'est ce que le bien-être animal

APPUI SCIENTIFIQUE ET TECHNIQUE

Le CNR BEA a pour mission d’apporter une expertise scientifique et technique auprès des pouvoirs publics, des parties signataires et des différents acteurs concernés par le bien-être des animaux sur la base des connaissances disponibles.

Pour mener à bien cette mission, le CNR BEA développe et coordonne un réseau d’experts scientifiques et techniques aux compétences reconnues.

Enfin, le CNR BEA propose, avec ses partenaires, de nouvelles actions de recherche, suite à l’identification de besoins de connaissances et leur traduction en questions de recherche.

Afin de valoriser les compétences développées au niveau français, le CNR BEA a pour mission de s’insérer dans le réseau européen de centres de référence sur le bien-être animal (centres nationaux de référence dans les différents Etats membres de l’Union européenne et centres européens de référence sur le bien-être animal spécialisés par espèce).

En savoir plus
Définition bien-être animal

PORTAIL D’INFORMATION SUR LES FORMATIONS

La chaire partenariale « Bien-être animal » vient appuyer le CNR BEA sur sa mission d’animation d’un centre de ressources dédié à la formation afin de :

  • Constituer une cartographie des actions de formation réalisées en France sur la thématique du bien-être animal
  • Identifier des actions de formation novatrices et favoriser les échanges d’expérience
  • Participer, à terme, à la révision des référentiels nationaux de formation

Cette mission couvre aussi bien l‘enseignement supérieur (vétérinaires et ingénieurs agronomes) que la formation continue (vétérinaires praticiens et vétérinaires inspecteurs, personnel d’abattoir, acteurs de l’élevage…).

La chaire partenariale sur le bien-être animal

La création de la chaire partenariale « Bien-être animal » s’inscrit dans la Stratégie de le France pour le bien-être animal (2016-2020) du ministère chargé de l’agriculture. La chaire partenariale portée par VetAgro Sup (campus vétérinaire de Lyon et École nationale des services vétérinaires – ENSV) est soutenue par le bureau de la protection animale de la DGAL.

En savoir plus sur la chaire partenariale